Living in Hong Kong can be overwhelming at times. The sheer amount of time spent commuting on foot makes me tired just thinking about it – hauling groceries on multiple trains, buses and up flights of stairs can be exhausting. On top of that, I am just starting to communicate Cantonese phrases the average three year old has mastered.

People ask me to describe our life in Hong Kong and it is hard to sum up what this experience has been like for us. I think photos perfectly describe our past year.

Perplexing and Overwhelming

Freeing

Exhilarating

Messy

Reflective

Claustrophobic

Exposing

Frustrating

And colorful

I remember visiting Hong Kong for the first time. On the flight home I told Rus that I could NEVER move to Hong Kong.

God had different plans.

Since then I have had even more thoughts of, “I could NEVER…”

And God continues to remind me that He works through weak people.

Over the past year I have learned that I am really weak. And that God in me is the only good thing.

Rus and I are reflecting on the past and praying about what God has in store for our future.

