You might notice how shy this one is in the picture below.

Usually our conversations go something like this:

Me: “(Name), did you finish your math homework last night?”

Student: …

Me: “Did you put it in our homework basket?”

Student: …

Me: “Well, what if you go think about it for a little bit, and when you figure out the answer come back and tell me.”

3 hours later…

Student: “yeeess.” (Said in the softest, mouse-like voice ever)

A friend I work with laughs because she says I have developed a mouse-like voice when speaking back to this student. You just can’t speak at a normal volume when someone is whispering to you. It just doesn’t seem right.

She is adorable. And even though she has only spoken about 20 words to me all year, hopefully she can sense my love for her.

